News

May 21, 2013

The Largest and Fullest Moon of 2013 During EDC Vegas

More articles by »
Written by: Keith Wozniak

We’re a month away from arriving in Las Vegas for Electric Daisy Carnival 2013 and the excitement continues to build. One of the many highlights that EDC Vegas has over other festivals is the fact that it goes from sunset to sunrise. This year will be even crazier with the largest and fullest moon of 2013 occurring the weekend we’ll all be there partying.

A full moon always seems to change the way we all react and brings out the crazies! As if there was any extra need for going crazy.

This year’s closest and largest full moon will occur on June 23 at precisely 11:32 Universal Time. At United States’ time zones, that means the moon will turn full on June 23 at 7:32 a.m. EDT, 6:32 a.m. CDT, 5:32 a.m. MDT and 4:32 a.m. PDT. We astronomers call this sort of close full moon a perigee full moon. The word perigeedescribes the moon’s closest point to Earth for a given month. Two years ago, when the closest and largest full moon fell on March 19, 2011, many used a term we’d never heard before: supermoon. Last year, we heard this term again to describe the year’s closest full moon on May 6, 2012.

(source)

Don’t be alarmed if you see people in the fields of Cosmic Meadow howling at the moon!



About the Author

Keith Wozniak
Founder of this web site, I have also has been involved with raves since 1999 as a raver, flyer guy, owned a promotion company throwing small and large events and also ran one of the first Dancesafe chapters. I've done it all and have never thought the scene was dead. Also writes for SchulzArmy.com




 
 

 

Alex M.O.R.P.H. Takeover: Interview and Review

Recently I traveled to Atlanta, Georgia to experience the trance legend himself, Alex M.O.R.P.H. Trying to prepare myself for this night was nearly impossible. Alex is a complete beast behind those CDJ’s and this night w...
by Keith Wozniak

 
 

EDC Orlando 2016 Official Teaser

Insomniac returns to Tinker Field on November 4 & 5, 2016, for yet another fantastic weekend of sunshine, good vibes, spectacular art, performers, carnival rides and the best beats around. Last year was a truly magical eve...
by Keith Wozniak

 
 

Review: A Little Background on Arno Cost and His New EP ‘Coming Alive’

Paris’ golden star Arno Cost just released his first EP Coming Alive on Protocol Recordings. For those of you who don’t know, P.R. is Dutch house DJ Nicky Romero’s label. Cost’s EP will feature two fresh trac...
by Keith Wozniak

 

 

Review: Bobby Puma ft. Desiree Dawnson Come Alive on Armada Deep

Bobby Puma, hot on heels of his recent huge collaboration with Tiesto “Making Me Dizzy“, is now back with a new release on Armada Deep. He joined forces with Desiree Dawson to create the house anthem of the summer,...
by Keith Wozniak

 
 

Interview with Mark Sherry in Orlando

This past Friday, Mark Sherry  played “Lost in Trancelation” at Bikkuri Lounge in Orlando. This would be the last stop on his US tour and I couldn’t turn down the chance to see this legend. Mark Sherry has...
by Keith Wozniak

 
 

Dreamstate San Francisco 2016: Event Review

This past weekend was one for the history books as San Francisco hosted the second Dreamstate, presented by Insomniac Events. For two days, the Bill Graham Civic Center Auditorium was filled with trance loving fans and 16 of th...
by Keith Wozniak