News

May 21, 2013

The Largest and Fullest Moon of 2013 During EDC Vegas

More articles by »
Written by: Keith Wozniak

We’re a month away from arriving in Las Vegas for Electric Daisy Carnival 2013 and the excitement continues to build. One of the many highlights that EDC Vegas has over other festivals is the fact that it goes from sunset to sunrise. This year will be even crazier with the largest and fullest moon of 2013 occurring the weekend we’ll all be there partying.

A full moon always seems to change the way we all react and brings out the crazies! As if there was any extra need for going crazy.

This year’s closest and largest full moon will occur on June 23 at precisely 11:32 Universal Time. At United States’ time zones, that means the moon will turn full on June 23 at 7:32 a.m. EDT, 6:32 a.m. CDT, 5:32 a.m. MDT and 4:32 a.m. PDT. We astronomers call this sort of close full moon a perigee full moon. The word perigeedescribes the moon’s closest point to Earth for a given month. Two years ago, when the closest and largest full moon fell on March 19, 2011, many used a term we’d never heard before: supermoon. Last year, we heard this term again to describe the year’s closest full moon on May 6, 2012.

(source)

Don’t be alarmed if you see people in the fields of Cosmic Meadow howling at the moon!



About the Author

Keith Wozniak
Founder of this web site, I have also has been involved with raves since 1999 as a raver, flyer guy, owned a promotion company throwing small and large events and also ran one of the first Dancesafe chapters. I've done it all and have never thought the scene was dead. Also writes for SchulzArmy.com




 
 

 

Celebrating 20 Years With The Electric Daisy Carnival

Insomniac hosted the iconic Electric Daisy Carnival at the Las Vegas Speedway last month. The gigantic event was one for the books as it once again sold out, celebrating their 20th Anniversary. With a massive lineup of 200+ DJ...
by Keith Wozniak

 
 

EDC Orlando 2016 Official Teaser

Insomniac returns to Tinker Field on November 4 & 5, 2016, for yet another fantastic weekend of sunshine, good vibes, spectacular art, performers, carnival rides and the best beats around. Last year was a truly magical eve...
by Keith Wozniak

 
 

EDC Orlando 2015: Event Review

With this being my first trip to the Orlando installment of Electric Daisy Carnival I was extremely excited to see what all the hype was about. I have attended numerous EDC Las Vegas festivals and I was sure this great Insomnia...
by Keith Wozniak

 

 

EDC Orlando 2015: Single Day Tickets Available and Lineup By Day

Insomniac announced today that single day tickets and the lineup by day for the 5th installment of Electric Daisy Carnival (EDC), Orlando are now available. Single day General Admission passes start at $99 before service fees,...
by Keith Wozniak

 
 

EDC Orlando 2015: Official Trailer and Lineup

Enter a world of fire-breathing metal creatures, three-dimensional wooden superstructures, colorful, glow-in-the-dark environments, and all manner of LED-infused flora and fauna. From the stages and the sound to the pyrotechni...
by Keith Wozniak

 
 

EDC ProTip: Rent a Locker With Friends

You’re going to a three-day festival with thousands of people and you don’t want to carry a lot of stuff around with you, so what do you do with it? Rent a locker! Lockers are approximately 8″H x 12″W x 18″D,...
by Keith Wozniak